Working Group 1

Understanding the Practice of Police Stops in Europe

Description

WG1 will develop a research protocol, identifying the information to be sought about each European state in order to establish a baseline. This will include information about the legal powers and guidance issued to police officers, official statistics about the use of those powers and academic and other analysis of the way in which the powers are used. WG1 will then undertake analysis of the information gleaned and of the gaps in knowledge. This data collection will be presented both as an annotated
bibliography and, as a key deliverable, as an on-line and interactive resource that can be updated and developed with time. In addition, WG1 will develop a blog for police officers to share and discuss their experiences of using powers to stop citizens and their understanding of the purpose of those powers.

Action activities

3 Working group meetings, 1 workshops, 1 STSM.

Objectives

• Gathering and exploring codified knowledge on Police Stops in Europe, including:
– the incidence and prevalence of Police Stops
– the distribution of stops across the population
– the quality of Police Stops
• Gathering and exploring codified knowledge on (non)legislation, on the registration and on the monitoring of Police Stops in Europe
• Gaining insight on best practices and the effectiveness of the practice of Police Stops
– Creating awareness about the practice of Police Stops by
– the dissemination of knowledge in scientific and professional (police) journal
– making Police Stops visible on an interactive map and making it available for public and government

Deliverables

1.1 working plan and arrangements of the working group (M1); 1.2 research protocol of the working group (M12);1.3 First overview of data on practicing Police Stops (M12); 1.4 annotated bibliography (M12); 1.5 Launch of Police Blog on Police Stops (M12); 1.6 overview of gathered data (M24); 1.7 Developing work plan GIS map; 1.8 data implemented in GIS map (M32); 1.9 planning publication and dissemination of data in scientific and professional (police) journals (M36); 1.10 publication in edited collection (M48); 1.11 publication in 1 national police professional journal (1 per participating country) and dissemination by national police networks through national conferences, seminars and meetings.


Working Group Members

  • Prof Zeljko Karas
    Croatia
    WG1 Leader
    • Email: zkaras@fkz.hr
    • Organisation: Police College
  • Dr Megan O'Neill
    United Kingdom
    WG1 Co-leader
    • Email: m.oneill@dundee.ac.uk
    • Organisation: Dundee University
  • Jan Fährmann
    Germany
    • Email: Jan.Faehrmann@hwr-berlin.de
    • Organisation: FÖPS Berlin
  • Anna Defour
    Spain
    • Email: anna.defour@opensocietyfoundations.org
    • Organisation: Open Society Foundations
  • Ms Rebekah Delsol
    United Kingdom
    • Email: rebekah.delsol@opensocietyfoundations.org
    • Organisation: Open Society Foundations
  • Ms Estelle Clyton
    United Kingdom
    • Email: e.m.clayton@dundee.ac.uk
    • Organisation: University of Dundee
  • Ms Carla Sofia Cardoso
    Portugal
    • Email: ccardoso@direito.up.pt
    • Organisation: University Of Porto (UP)
  • Ms Sara van Praet
    Belgium
    • Email: sarah.vanpraet@just.fgov.be
    • Organisation: NICC (National institut of criminal justice)
  • Ms Lyn Ross
    United Kingdom
    • Email: lyn.ross@scotland.pnn.police.uk
    • Organisation: Police Scotland
  • Mr Ian Thomson
    United Kingdom
    • Email: ian.thomson4@scotland.pnn.police.uk
    • Organisation: Police Scotland
  • Mr Paul Quinton
    United Kingdom
    • Email: paul.quinton@college.pnn.police.uk
    • Organisation: College of Policing
  • Ms Kath Murray
    United Kingdom
    • Email: kathmurray100@gmail.com
    • Organisation: University of Edinbourgh
  • Mr Markus Himanen
    Finland
    • Email: markus.himanen@helsinki.fi
    • Organisation: University of Helsinki
  • Ms Inès Saudelli
    Belgium
    TS-manager
    • Email: ines.saudelli@vub.be
    • Organisation: Vrije Universiteit Brussel
  • Prof Darko Marinkovic
    Serbia
    • Email: --
    • Organisation: --
  • Dr Karolina Kremens
    Poland
    • Email: karolina.kremens@uwr.edu.pl
    • Organisation: University of Wroclaw, Faculty of Law, Administration and Economics
  • Prof Helene Gundhus
    Norway
    • Email: h.o.i.gundhus@jus.uio.no
    • Organisation: University of Oslo
  • Prof Marina Malish Sazdovska
    North Macedonia
    • Email: mmsazdovska@gmail.com
    • Organisation: Faculty of security Skopje
  • Prof Katerina Krstevska Savovska
    North Macedonia
    • Email: katerina.krstevska@gmail.com
    • Organisation: Faculty of Security Skopje
  • Mr Vladimir Sterpu
    Moldova
    • Email: --
    • Organisation: --
  • Dr Sean Redmond
    Ireland
    • Email: sean.redmond@ul.ie
    • Organisation: Department of Children and Youth Affairs
  • Irma Deljkic
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    • Email: ideljkic@fkn.unsa.ba
    • Organisation: Faculty of Criminal Justice, Criminology and Security Studies
  • Dr Darko Datzer
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    • Email: ddatzer@fkn.unsa.ba
    • Organisation: Faculty of Criminal Justice, Criminology and Security Studies
  • Dr Carrol Tange
    Belgium
    • Email: carrol.tange@just.fgov.be
    • Organisation: NICC
  • Dr Mike Rowe
    United Kingdom
    Action Vice Chair
    ITC-manager
    • Email: michael.rowe@liverpool.ac.uk
    • Organisation: Liverpool University
  • Prof Sofie De Kimpe
    Belgium
    Action Chair
    Grant Holder Scientific Representative
    • Email: sofie.de.kimpe@vub.be
    • Organisation: Vrije Universiteit Brussel